Jellyfish returns?

Published March 20, 2013 by proxycore

Hello fellow mer-people and landwalkers~

So it seems like it’s been quite a while since I’ve last blogged. Things just got busy and I started to lose motivation….after all, I can never really decide what I want to blog about. No matter, I’ll try to get regular posts up.

Grade 12 already? In fact, graduation is coming up right around the corner. I’m both terrified and excited for it. It really does feel like yesterday when I first entered highschool. If one thing’s true about it, it’s that you learn a lot of things the hard way and you grow up fast. I have no idea where I want to head from now on though, honestly, and I’m sure lots of other people are in the same boat as me. After all, it can be quite a daunting task to chose what you want to study and do for the rest of your life. But I sorta feel like it’s going to be something in the science field anyways, whether it be in research or be in practicing medicine. Here’s a tip that I’ve heard from a lot of my university friends though: do what you are interested in.

I know what some of you guys are thinking. ‘Well, isn’t that obvious?’ or ‘Shouldn’t the main focus be on choosing something that can guarantee you a good job?’. Well the truth is, we can’t know what to really expect. Engineering and being a doctor are both professions that will give you a comfortable salary to live on but they take a lot of dedication in studying. And if you aren’t happy with what you do, you’re not living your life to your fullest potential. On the other hand, arts and literature may be something you enjoy, but it may be harder to find a job with. This is where you need to find the balance between what makes you happy, and what can sustain you.

If I didn’t need to worry about making money, I’d want to be a professional pianist (though with my skills?…..quite unlikely). So for now, I’m thinking of going into general sciences and continuing piano on the side. Sounds fair right? Oh, and field hockey, I’ll be continuing that through university for sure.

So to all the graduating students who still aren’t sure what they want to go into? Pick whatever you enjoy doing the most first. A job that makes a ton of money may be good, but if you hate doing it then it’s not worth it. From then on you can figure out what kind of career balances the right amount of enjoyment with a good pay (plus good vacation times, we all need that). And university is the time for people to try new things and to figure out what they want to do (or so I’ve heard) so don’t stress out more than you need to. And for those who already know what they’re are doing, I wish you the best of luck and the most success possible. Let’s let 2013-2014 be a good school year!

Jellyfish out~

Leave a Reply

