Bugs in my basement?!

Published April 24, 2013 by proxycore

Hello my lovely mer-folk and land-walkers!

Sorry I haven’t posted for a while. Now, where did we leave off….

Immediately after my lovely Spring break vacation in London and Paris, I fell extremely ill. It took me a couple weeks to be able to get over the combination of things I had, so that meant not seeing anyone other than my family and no socializing. So what did I do? Go on the internet all day of course! I basically sat in my basement all day browsing different sites and reading up on different things. But my readings were interrupted one time by a giant black moving dot that I saw out of the corner of my eye. It crawled up towards me and just suddenly stopped in the middle of its tracks like it died while walking towards me or something. It looked like a giant furry hard shelled beetle shaped thing that was the size of my nail. Of course I freaked out and was going to get a piece of paper to throw it outside with, but when I came back……it was GONE!

Oh, but no worries, of course 2 other ones would come out in the middle of nowhere just walking all over my carpet like it owns the place. They weren’t furry this time so I managed to get a better look at what they were (the ‘furriness’ from the first one was probably because it walked through dust). They looked like some sort of roly-poly, or sow bug. I managed to put them all outside but I forgot to take a picture of them first. )=

Oh well, I continued to browse the internet. And if you know me, you’d know that I tend to get emotionally attached to the most bizarre ideas at times. After trying to identify the bug in my basement, I came across the idea of having pet insects. One thing led to another and I came across the website ‘bugsincyberspace.com’ where I became emotionally latched to the idea of having a pet millipede.

om_philippineBlue

Isn’t it cute? No? Only me?…..yea I have strange taste…..

But wait! Something very interesting was about to happen. I looked at the other invertebrates offered and lo and behold, I saw a familiar face in the isopod section.

2163

Oniscus asellus, also known as the common woodlouse. I can’t be certain because I didn’t get a picture of the ones in my basement and I also didn’t have a specimen handy to compare. But this looked strikingly like what I had in my basement, but they aren’t native where I am. This gives me two possibilities, either the previous owner of my house had owned these as pets and they escaped somehow or the more likely idea that I am wrong. Oh well, maybe if I’m right I can capture these little creatures and set up a shop for myself! Creepy insects + internet shop + oddball isopod collectors = profit????

In any case, I will be on the lookout for another one if I see them and I will try to capture it for identification. And the most likely case will probably be me calling the exterminator on them if there ends up being too many.They’re rather docile creatures though so I’m not too worried.

Oh, and unfortunately millipedes are illegal for some reason in Canada so my obsession was short lived. Perhaps a Mexican Red Knee Tarantula would do instead….

MexicanRedKnee_02

Pretty, aren’t they? As long as you are ok with spiders I suppose~ Who needs a conventional pet when you can have a tarantula!

Oh well, we’ll see if I actually end up getting one.

I feel like this post is quite a bit less formal than the others I’ve posted before, and I apologize for that. If you like it better this way let me know though~

Until then! Jellyfish out~

Leave a Reply

