My bathroom is haunted

Published April 29, 2013 by proxycore

Why did I just take a break from studying to write a TL;DR post about studying? This is proof that too much studying at once is bad for your brain.

Anyways…Hello again my little fishies~ Here’s an apology post.

I’m sure we’ve all heard about ghost stories that involved a washroom somehow. One ghost story that I remember from childhood was called ‘Bloody Mary’. The idea was that if you were to stand in a washroom where the mirror is opposite to the door with the lights out, and chant ‘Bloody Mary’ 3 times, spinning around in between each chant, that she would appear before you in the mirror. The back story behind her changed multiple times as childish imagination took over and so did the ritual. Sometimes it wasn’t even ‘Bloody Mary’ that you were supposed to summon anymore but rather some other ghoulish creature or evil ghost. Either way, for some reason there were a significant amount of horror stories in my childhood that involved a washroom. I remember that at one point me and my friends were too scared to go to the washroom unless we went as a big group, it’s quite silly really, but all part of the fun in being a child.

Turns out the horror ritual ‘Bloody Mary’ derived from Mary Tudor.

A full decade later, I’ve already read and watched more than my fair share of horror stories and horror movies. And every time I do so I would get scared and vow to never read or watch it again, yet at the same time the very next day you will find me reading more. Up until a year ago I lived and breathed horror. I decided to take a break in efforts to prevent my ‘fight or flight’ reflex from popping up every few seconds since the horror movies were making me paranoid. It was safe to say that I didn’t have my thoughts on horror for a while now and I didn’t need to worry about being scared needlessly.

…..Or was it? I caught myself reminiscing about my childhood horror stories and decided to look up what Bloody Mary was really about (I was also in my washroom to brush my teeth). I turned to trusty and reliable Wikipedia to inform me, and right when I reached the part about apparitions screaming, strangling and stealing souls the lights above my washroom mirror gave out. My door was closed and I was in complete darkness for a bit before I realized what just happened and my brain pressed the panic button. I fumbled around in the dark for the switch to my second set of lights while I my brain imagined up all the horrible scenarios that could happen involving ‘Bloody Mary’ and I swore I felt someone breathe down my neck. I found the switch before my imagination was able to make me go completely insane, but it still took me a while to realize that I wasn’t going to be viciously attacked by an imaginary ghost.

Oh well, the light bulbs are all changed now and I’m going to be staying away from anything horror related for a while now. On a much happier note, today I finally got my Blue Yeti Microphone. I’m really excited to use it~ It’s been over a year since I’ve been planning on getting it after all….I bet you guys can guess what my surprise will be this weekend now 😉

Preparing the mic,

Jellyfish~

Leave a Reply

