The Great Gatsby: Young and Beautiful

Published May 9, 2013 by proxycore

Hello mer-folk and land-walkers~

So…I guess I unintentionally lied to everyone. It seems that there wasn’t something special posted after the IB exams on my birthday. Well as an explanation for that, for some reason I couldn’t get the programs I used for recording to actually work with my microphone and not mess with sound quality. I fiddled around with it for the previous weekend but I couldn’t figure out what exactly was the problem. But the good thing now is that I’ve gotten my desktop running and hopefully things will work better there! I’ll try to give it a shot again this weekend~

The Yeti microphone is amazing though, I can use the headphone jack directly built into the mic to hear myself while I record. Needless to say, the quality I hear from the headphones is significantly better than the one my programs record for some reason. It was so good that when I used the microphone on Skype with my friends, they could hear me opening and closing my mouth (like the moisture from my mouth or something). Thoroughly embarrassing….. but it is a good indicator for how well the microphone picks things up.

Anyways, onto some content. Does anyone ever notice how when the heat of summer comes along and the end of the school year arrives, people just end up becoming limp bodies and nothing you plan gets done? I had planned to watch Ironman 3 but that keeps getting postponed…. I was convinced that I would watch it opening night but clearly that didn’t happen. Oh well, I will watch it within the month.

Another movie is coming to theaters tomorrow that has been getting quite a bit of attention lately. You’ve guessed it, it is the only movie where you can see Spider-man acting with the boy from Titanic while listening to some Lana Del Rey; ‘The Great Gatsby’.

 

I’m not to sure on whether or not I want to see this movie though, it looks quite interesting and it’s hard to pass up anything with a time frame around the Roaring Twenties. Where else are you going to enjoy the ideas of a flourishing economy and beautiful jazz music all mixed in with the perfect amount of crime and rum-running? Either way, the movie is still based off of a book and generally I would prefer to read the book before seeing the movie. Either way, I will most definitely have to watch it eventually. Lana Del Rey had sealed the deal.

 

Like pretty much every other Lana Del Rey, this one is a masterpiece. I had given a shot at covering a couple of her songs like ‘Radio’ and ‘This is what makes us girls’ and it just didn’t come out right. And it wasn’t just because the sound quality was compromised, Lana’s songs are hard to properly cover. Maybe when I have more training…

Until then,

Jellyfish out~

5 comments on “The Great Gatsby: Young and Beautiful

  • I’ve been listening to this song all day, it’s absoluetly gorgeous. I’ve never read The Great Gatsby or seen any of the films made from it so I’m not too sure about the storyline, but if Lana’s singing, I’ll be there. Her voice is just entrancing

  • Leave a Reply

