Marina and the Diamonds: Electra Heart

Published May 13, 2013 by proxycore

Hello water creatures of all sizes, shapes and colour! And humans as well~

The Overlord has been rather fed up lately. It is already so close to the end of the year that I can’t really bring myself to do schoolwork anymore. The hot weather and impending freedom that the summer promises has already completely melted what I had of a brain. But not to worry! I still have the remnants of what resembles a heart. That is…before Marina and the Diamonds stole it away.

After stumbling upon the song ‘Primadonna’ through one of Michelle Phan’s make up tutorials on YouTube, I was addicted to it for a good few weeks. But it wasn’t until lately that I explored her other songs, and by now I can almost say I love her as much as Lana Del Rey. I was listening to her Album ‘Electra Heart’, and I was surprised to find that I actually loved every song on the album. This is a rather rare occurrence, as usually there are a couple songs that I don’t really favor an any given album, even the ones by my favorite artists (except for Lana of course). Marina has a voice that is distinct and a look that is unique. My new favorite song by her is called ‘Starring Role’.

 

‘It almost feels like a joke to play out the part
When you are not the starring role in someone else’s heart
You know I’d rather walk alone, than play a supporting role
If I can’t get the starring role.’ 

The lyrics are really perfect. Lana and Marina are the two artists who have consistently been able to touch me with their lyrics. My second favorite song on the album right now is probably going to have to be ‘State of Dreaming’. The first thing that caught my attention was how different her voice seemed in this song. It was a lot softer than her other songs. The second thing that drew me in was how perfect the lyrics seemed to adhere to me. It’s true, the talent of an artist really is dependent on how they connect to their audience through their words.

 

‘I live my life inside a dream
Only waking when I sleep
I would sell my sorry soul, if I could have it all’ 

It’s amazing how these lyrics seems to connect so intimately to each individual, yet still connects to so many people. Maybe one day, I can create lyrics that are like this as well haha.

Anyways ladies and gentlemen, Marina and the Diamonds.

Jellyfish out~

One comment on “Marina and the Diamonds: Electra Heart

  • Leave a Reply

